Read the latest 2022 Qatar World Cup news here.

Who will win the PFA 2012/13 Player of the Season Award?

Who will win the PFA 2012/13 Player of the Season Award?

As the end of the Premier League campaign approaches, fans of the EPL will have a pretty good idea regarding their 2012/13 player of the season.

As most people know, the PFA Individual Player of the Year award is voted for by the players. Here we look at the leading contenders – who will deserve the title of best player come the end of May?

Gareth Bale

Gareth Bale is the bookmakers favourite to win the award this season and its easy to see why. The Welshman has been inspirational for Tottenham, scoring 16 goals in 27 appearances.

Arguably, Bale has carried his side to 4th position in the League and it’s looking likely that Spurs will secure a top four finish at the end of the campaign.

Luiz Suarez

Despite having a Premier League career marred with controversy, Luiz Suarez has finally put all his previous problems aside by showing remarkable form for Liverpool this season.

The 26 year old has scored 22 goals in 26 league matches for the Reds as the Merseyside club prepare to end the season by qualifying for Next season’s Europa League.

Robin Van Persie

Van Persie started the season with a bang having made the move from London to the red side of Manchester.

The Dutchman is the current holder of the award. Yet again, this season he has been fantastic, scoring 19 goals in 29 appearances.

Unfortunately the 29-year-old is currently experiencing a lack of goals having scored just once in his last 9 appearances for United. I think this stat could be damaging to his chances of reclaiming the Player of the Year Award for a second successive season.


Michu has had a brilliant first season in England playing for the Swans. His debut was ideal for kick-starting his career at the club, scoring twice in a 5-0 victory over QPR. The Spaniard has since scored 15 goals in 28 games.

Somehow I don’t think Michu has done enough to win this season’s award, however it’s been extremely refreshing seeing such a bargain signing performing so well for his side.

Juan Mata

Chelsea haven’t been spectacular this season, however Juan Mata has been a shining light for the London club. He certainly has an outside chance of winning the award in question.

The midfielder has netted 10 times in 23 appearance for the Blues so far this season and without some of these goals, Chelsea would not be sitting as safely in 3rd place.

Theo Walcott

It seems Theo Walcott is finally showing the maturity and quality that many pundits predicted all those years ago. Now at the age of 24, Walcott is becoming a key player for the Gunners and he has definitely proved his value at times this season.

The Englishman ended the uncertainty regarding his future by recently signing a new contract with Arsenal. This deal epitomises a break-through season for Walcott, in which he has contributed 11 goals and 9 assists to Arsenal’s bid for Champions League football.

Marouane Fellaini

Fellaini is easily Everton’s key man in midfield and this season he has had a stormer for the Merseyside club.

The Belgian has taken a more attacking role since the departure of Tim Cahill in the summer and his performances have certainly benefited as a result.

Have your say, who do you think will win the PFA Player of the Year Award? Comment with your opinions below.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

You may also like…