Will these Manchester United and Everton stars make the Premier League Team of the Season next year?

Few would have expected the likes of Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez to be named in this season’s PFA Team of the Year. The Leicester duo have been in sensational form for the Foxes whilst last season’s player of the year; Eden Hazard, has struggled immensely. Dele Alli, Dimitri Payet, and Wes Morgan have also been in great form all year round and were well worthy of their nomination.

It is hard to predict who will earn their place in next year’s team of the year as there are many unexpected stars every season. Using Football Manager 2016, we simulated until the end of the conclusion of the 2016/17 season to see who was named in the best XI of the year.

Here is what we found…

Goalkeeper – Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea)

Embed from Getty Images

Manchester United’s David De Gea earned his place in this season’s PFA team of the year following some exceptional performances for the Red Devils. The Spaniard has arguably kept Louis Van Gaal in a job and has kept his side in the race for the top four. Chelsea’s Thibaut Courtois has not enjoyed his second season at Stamford Bridge. The Belgian was dismissed on the opening day of the season against Swansea and also missed three months of the season through injury. Chelsea’s poor form has led to speculation regarding his future as the former Atletico Madrid keeper has admitted he may leave the club. However, should Courtois stay in London, FM back the shot-stopper to bounce back and earn a place in the team of the year.

Right-Back – Mario Fernandes (Manchester United)

Embed from Getty Images

Brazilian right-back, Mario Fernandes, was signed by Manchester United after LVG seemingly lost faith in Italian defender, Matteo Darmian. The former CSKA Moscow man slotted in seamlessly during his first season with the club and earned his place in the team of the year as Manchester United formed a formidable defence under their Dutch manager.

Centre-Back – John Stones (Manchester United)

Embed from Getty Images

Everton defender, John Stones, was another defensive signing by the Manchester club in order to sure up their leaky back-line. Despite Chris Smalling’s impressive form this season, Stones moved from Everton for around £25 million. The England international performed admirably during his first season at Old Trafford and was the first centre-back in the team of the year with an average rating of 7.71.

Centre-Back – Aymeric Laporte (Manchester United)

Embed from Getty Images

Another defensive recruit from Athletic Bilbao who earned his place in the team of the year was Aymeric Laporte. United beat off competition from the likes of Barcelona, Bayern Munich, and rivals Manchester City to land the signature of one of the most sought after defenders in the world. The Frenchman arrived from Spain for just over £30 million which completed one of the most expensive defensive partnerships in world football. Laporte also impressed during his first season in England and earned his place in the team of the year. The 21-year-old was named Young Player of the Year in his maiden campaign.

Left-Back – Luke Shaw (Manchester United)

Embed from Getty Images

Remarkably, the PFA Team of the Year defence is completed by another Manchester United player. It is a testament to the defensive investment by the club during the season yet the Red Devils struggled for goals during LVG’s last campaign as manager. Luke Shaw earns his place in the side after successfully recovering from a horrific leg break to continue his impressive early season form. The English defender will be hoping for a similar impact when he completes his return from the injury he picked up against PSV.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

You may also like…