arsenal ramsdale
Photo by David Price/Arsenal FC via Getty Images

'Straight away': Mikel Arteta shares what he was saying as VAR reviewed Ramsdale's tackle at Turf Moor

Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt – AMA/Getty Images

Mikel Arteta has revealed to BBC Sport that he immediately was under the impression that Arsenal had to avoid giving away a penalty against Burnley.


Arsenal thought that they had conceded a spot kick, when Aaron Ramsdale appeared to collide with a Burnley attacker and the referee pointed to the spot.

However, replays showed that Ramsdale actually got a touch on the ball before making contact with any opposition player.

The incident was immediately flagged up to Arteta by his assistants.

Every Man City Striker Since Robinho: Where Are They Now?

Every Man City Striker Since Robinho: Where Are They Now?

And the Spaniard felt that the correct decision was made by the VAR in the end.

“I didn’t know, but straight away the assistants were saying that it wasn’t a penalty,” Arteta said.

“So I reviewed it straight away and said ‘they cannot give a penalty here’.”

Clean sheet

Arsenal ultimately managed to avoid conceding at Turf Moor to pick up the three points.

The Gunners stood up well to what was an aerial bombardment in the second half to seal their victory.

Arsenal haven’t always been the most reliable at dealing with physical challenges, but the likes of Thomas Partey, Ben White and Gabriel all coped well against Burnley’s attacking muscle.

Arsenal have now won back to back games to start climbing the table, after a poor opening to the campaign.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

You may also like…

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment