Connect with us

Matt Le Tissier makes penalty point on Twitter hours after Spurs’ contentious spot-kick

(Photo by Alex Pantling/Getty Images)


Matt Le Tissier makes penalty point on Twitter hours after Spurs’ contentious spot-kick

Matt Le Tissier has taken to Twitter to hit out at the suggestion that any contact inside the penalty box is enough to justify a spot-kick being awarded, hours after Tottenham Hotspur saw off Southampton in their FA Cup replay thanks to a foul inside the box from Angus Gunn.

Jose Mourinho’s men booked their place in the fifth round after a dramatic victory over the Saints. The visitors were 2-1 up heading into the latter stages.

(Photo by Tottenham Hotspur FC/Tottenham Hotspur FC via Getty Images)

But Spurs would equalise through Lucas Moura. And they would be given a golden chance to put themselves in front when Son went down inside the box after taking the ball past Gunn.

Replays showed that Gunn’s hands did appear to make contact with Son’s thigh. However, it did look to be soft.

(Photo by Marc Atkins/Getty Images)

Nevertheless, the VAR had no problem with the decision. And Son was allowed to step up and score the winner.

It must be noted that Le Tissier’s tweet may not be in reference to Wednesday’s tie. He makes no mention of Southampton, Spurs or Son.


However, given the subject of his tweet, it would arguably be a big surprise if he was not talking about the decision to penalise Gunn…

It would perhaps be unfair to criticise Son too strongly. Plenty of players seem to go to ground too easily. And part of the problem is the referees have arguably set the standard.

Any contact seems to be justification for a player to go to ground. And it does not help that players seem to rarely win free-kicks or penalties when they are genuinely impeded but manage to stay on their feet.

Have something to tell us about this article?

More in Southampton


To Top