FBL-ENG-PR-WEST HAM-LEEDS
Photo by DANIEL LEAL/AFP via Getty Images

Lineker reacts on Twitter to Leeds' disallowed goal for offside

Gary Lineker was amongst those to express his dismay on Twitter after Leeds United had a fourth goal disallowed for offside, while Josh Windass was also baffled by the decision against West Ham.

Leeds picked up a huge win in their battle to avoid being involved in the Premier League relegation scrap. Jack Harrison scored a stunning hat-trick for the Whites in the five-goal thriller.

Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

It was a tense finish to the game for Leeds, with Jarrod Bowen missing a glorious chance in stoppage-time. But the Whites will feel that the result should have been a little more comfortable anyway.

Half-Season Team of the Season & Awards | HITC Sevens Christmas Special

Mateusz Klich scored the visitors’ fourth after some brilliant work from Raphinha. The ball took a deflection off Rodrigo, with the Spaniard on the goalline.

Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

There was no chance of West Ham preventing the effort from Klich going in. But because Rodrigo was stood in an offside position, the VAR had no choice but to rule the goal out.

You certainly could have sympathy for Leeds. And initial replays suggested that Marcelo Bielsa was annoyed by the decision. Bielsa, of course, makes a point of never criticising decisions in his press conferences.

The officials had little option. And that is why Lineker insisted that the laws of the game need to be changed. Meanwhile, Windass was less diplomatic in his assessment…

Leeds fans’ frustrations over offside decision not helped by previous controversial call

Leeds and West Ham have met twice in eight days. It was the Hammers who won in the FA Cup last week. On that occasion, David Moyes’s men were certainly the better side.

But they did benefit from a hugely controversial decision for their first goal. Jarrod Bowen – who was initially offside – was deemed to not be interfering in play in the melee that led to the deadlock being broken.

Bowen however, came agonisingly close to getting the ball when Illan Meslier attempted to gather it. So it is incredibly difficult to argue that he was not involved.

Unlike last week, the officials seemed to get the decision right this time. But the frustration of the FA Cup goal will have likely come to the fore when Klich’s strike was ruled out.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

You may also like…

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment