Follow us on



Houston fail to join LA in the CCL Quarter Finals

Arabe Unido 1 Houston Dynamo 0   24 October

Despite only needing a draw to qualify for the CONCACAF Champions League Quarter Finals the Dynamo fell at the final hurdle in Panama. A Jose Gonzalez strike after 61 minutes meant it was the hosts who advanced out of Group 1. After the visitors keeper Tyler Deric had stopped the midfielders first effort the ball looped backed to him and he headed the ball back over the stranded goalie. Despite pushing forward late Houston could not find the all important tally and had to settle for second place two points behind their hosts.

Isidro Metapán 4 LA Galaxy 0

Having already reached the knock-out stage the Galaxy saw their unbeaten run in CCL Group 8 come to an end in El Salvador. The home sides striker Nicolás Muñoz had a night to remember at he notched all four of his teams tallies, including a hat-trick in 4 minutes. His first goal came after 29 minutes when he got on the end of a free-kick from the left wing. 2 minutes later and he doubled his sides advantage. Having received a ball from Hector Ramos he managed to beat two Galaxy defenders, first Leonardo then A.J. DeLaGarza before slipping the ball past Brian Rowe in the visitors net. 2 minutes after and it was three. Midfielder Marvin Monterrosa sent a diagonal ball that got past defender Tommy Meyer and left Muñoz one-on-one with Rowe, he then went round the shell-shocked goalie and fired into the empty net. 4 minutes before the break he completed his amazing evening with his final tally. A cross from the left from Jose Peraza found the Panamanian forward and after letting the ball bounce he lobbed neatly over Rowe. The victory for Isidro was their first this campaign and moved them up to second in the standings five points behind LA.

When the competition gets up and running again next year these will be the Quarter Final match-ups.

San Jose Earthquakes V Toluca (Mexico)
Sporting Kansas City V Cruz Azul (Mexico)
Los Angeles Galaxy V Tijuana (Mexico)
Alajuelense (Costa Rica) V Árabe Unido (Panama)