Hodgson announces England World Cup qualifiers squad

England coach Roy Hodgson has named Chelsea duo Daniel Sturridge and Ryan Bertrand in his squad for next month’s World Cup qualifiers with Moldova and Ukraine.

The pair were both involved in the friendly win over Italy in Berne a fortnight ago.

And with Wayne Rooney ruled out by a thigh injury, Sturridge has kept his place, whilst Bertrand provides cover in both left back and left-sided midfield roles.

As expected, Jack Butland and John Ruddy were named as back-up keepers to first-choice Joe Hart.

It means Rob Green has lost his place as understudy from Euro 2012, completing a bad 24 hours for QPR new-boy following Julio Cesar’s arrival as part of the Loftus Road revolution.

Kyle Walker, who missed out on the European Championship due to a broken toe, has been named at right-back along with Liverpool’s Glen Johnson.

The one surprising omission is that of Manchester United winger Ashley Young who was at the Euros and who also started against Italy earlier this month.

However, he does not make Hodgson’s 24-man squad.

Even without Young, in total Hodgson has named 15 of the his 23-man Euro 2012 squad.

In addition, Ruddy and Chelsea pair Gary Cahill and Frank Lampard would also have gone to the finals in Poland and Ukraine had they not been ruled out through injury.

Manchester United’s Michael Carrick and Tom Cleverley are also in, along with Adam Johnson, who has left Manchester City for Sunderland in order to further his international ambitions.

Andy Carroll and Theo Walcott are also included despite speculation about their futures.

It is believed John Terry will undergo a fitness test on the neck injury that prevented him from featuring in Chelsea’s Premier League clash with Newcastle last weekend.

The England squad for the World Cup qualifiers against Moldova and Ukraine is:

Goalkeepers: Butland (Birmingham), Hart (Man City), Ruddy (Norwich)

Defenders: Baines (Everton), Bertrand (Chelsea), Cahill (Chelsea), Cole (Chelsea), Jagielka (Everton), G Johnson (Liverpool), Lescott (Man City), Terry (Chelsea), Walker (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Carrick (Man United), Cleverley (Man United), Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), 
Gerrard (Liverpool), A Johnson (Sunderland), Lampard (Chelsea), Milner (Man 
City), Walcott (Arsenal)

Strikers: Carroll (Liverpool), Defoe (Tottenham), Sturridge (Chelsea), Welbeck (Man United).


Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

You may also like…

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment