Read the latest 2022 Qatar World Cup news here.

'I'll show you something': Sky pundit spots what the ref did just before Cornet scored for West Ham vs Chelsea
Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

'I'll show you something': Sky pundit spots what the ref did just before Cornet scored for West Ham vs Chelsea

Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has been speaking on Sky Sports about West Ham v Chelsea and Maxwell Cornet’s disallowed goal.

Cornet saw his equalising goal harshly ruled out at the weekend as Chelsea won 2-1. It was a decision which dominated the headlines and punditry over the weekend, with many believing the Hammers got done over a tad.

Photo by Dave Howarth – CameraSport via Getty Images

And Gallagher, rather than backing up the referees this time, believes this was one which was got completely wrong and West Ham can feel aggrieved.

“I don’t think it was a foul on Saturday and I don’t think it’s a foul now. I think it raises a number of issues. It became complicated I think because VAR got involved. If you wind it back I’ll show you something that’s really interesting about the whole scenario,” Gallagher said on Sky Sports.

“When it plays out, if you don’t watch the incident, watch the referee. He’s got the best position he can have on a football field. He’s got everything in front of him, he can see the incident, the clash, Mendy, Bowen, he sees the goalkeeper on the floor. Yet when he went to the VAR he saw the same images and saw the same angle so I don’t know what changed.

“I think the VAR focussed on the goalkeeper, he felt he was injured, he hasn’t got the feel Andy Madeley had on the field and that became the focus. I think the VAR focussed on the goalkeeper and the law does say if the goalkeeper is genuinely injured, you have to stop the game in the penalty area.”

TBR’s View: Gallagher Spot On

These shows with the refs on can often be divisive but Dermot Gallagher is right here and a lot of West Ham fans will be intrigued by the comments.

Chelsea got away with one here and there is no doubt that it was an absolute stinker from the officials. Mendy might have felt a touch of pain, but he made a mistake and the VAR simply fell for it hook, line, and sinker.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

You may also like…