Read the latest 2022 Qatar World Cup news here.

From Ronaldo to Harry Kane: Last five World Cup Golden Boot winners ahead of Qatar 2022
Photo credit should read GLYN KIRK/AFP via Getty Images

From Ronaldo to Harry Kane: Last five World Cup Golden Boot winners ahead of Qatar 2022

Harry Kane goes into the 2022 World Cup as the holder of the Golden Boot, but who has recently won the individual crown?

Provided he stays fit, Kane has every chance of defending his crown as England look to go one better than their Euro 2020 final defeat.

England of course made the semi-finals in 2018, losing the third-fourth place play-off to Belgium, but whose footsteps did Kane follow in?

Photo by Denis Doyle/Getty Images for adidas

James Rodriguez won the Golden Boot at the 2014 World Cup

The footballing world was aware of James Rodriguez’s quality before Brazil hosted the 2014 World Cup, but that tournament took him to a whole new level.

Rodriguez netted six goals, including the Goal of the Tournament, which he expertly volleyed home against Uruguay.

Colombia’s hopes came to an end against the hosts, but James did enough to earn a dream move to Real Madrid on the back of the tournament.

Photo credit should read CHRISTOF STACHE/AFP via Getty Images

Thomas Muller won the Golden Boot at the 2010 World Cup

Four players scored five goals at the 2010 tournament in South Africa, but Germany’s Thomas Muller scooped the crown on the basis of his three assists.

David Villa, Wesley Sneijder and Diego Forlan each provided just one. We can debate the merits of deciding the winner of a goalscoring award on the basis of assists but that is how it was decided.

Muller’s men were eliminated in the semi-finals by eventual winners Spain, but would go on to scoop the crown for years later.

Miroslav Klose won the Golden Shoe at the 2006 World Cup

The prize was known as the Golden Shoe until the 2010 World Cup, and legendary German striker Klose won the final iteration before the name change.

Klose was playing on home soil, as the Germans were once again foiled at the semi-final stage by the eventual winners; this time Italy.

Klose netted five goals, putting him two clear of South American rivals Hernan Crespo and Ronaldo. Speaking of Ronaldo…

Photo credit should read PIERRE-PHILIPPE MARCOU/AFP via Getty Images

Ronaldo won the Golden Shoe at the 2002 World Cup

The only man on our short list to top the goalscoring charts and help his side lift the overall crown is the legendary Ronaldo.

The 1998 World Cup ended in final heartbreak for R9, but he roared back in some style in Japan and South Korea.

He smashed in a huge eight goals, including two in the final as Brazil beat Germany to clinch the crown.

That is the highest total anyone has scored at the World Cup since Gerd Muller’s ten in 1970, and he did it all sporting that famous haircut.

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

You may also like…