Antonio shares what referee said after disallowed West Ham goal
Michail Antonio has told The Footballer’s Football Podcast that Orel Mangala blocked him in the build-up to the goal West Ham saw disallowed during their defeat to Nottingham Forest at the weekend.
Forest claimed a famous win on Sunday. But the newly-promoted side pushed their luck. West Ham hit the crossbar on a couple of occasions. And Declan Rice had a penalty saved during the second-half.
West Ham felt particularly aggrieved after Said Benrahma’s goal was ruled out for a foul. Initially, the referee gave nothing after a clash between Antonio and Mangala.
However, the VAR then intervened and suggested that the referee go to the monitor to review the decision. And, despite setting a higher bar for overturning decisions this season, the official decided to disallow the goal.
‘Doesn’t make any sense’
Antonio had been striding through and crashed into Mangala while the Forest man was the nearest opponent to Rice. However, it seemed impossible to judge who was in the wrong given that both players changed direction on a couple of occasions.
Antonio went on to suggest that he accepted the decision. But his anger really boiled over when a similar clash moments later did not see West Ham awarded a free-kick.
“It doesn’t make any sense. Let me explain this situation, Dec gets the ball, I run. I’m like: ‘Dec, flick it over the top’ because I’m running straight through on goal. He’s obviously heard my shout. I’ve gone left, he’s moved left. I’ve gone right, he’s gone the other way. So I’m literally running straight into him. But he’s blocked me on purpose because I’m moving to avoid him because I’m trying to go through,” he told The Footballer’s Football Podcast.
“He’s moved in my way, and I’ve gone: ‘ref, he’s blocked me’.
“Two minutes later, I pick up a throw-in, I pass it forward. He does it again. I’ve gone to him: ‘he’s done it again, he’s blocked me off again. You’ve disallowed the goal for blocking me, he’s done it again’. He’s not given me a foul. The referee goes to me: ‘move on, it’s gone now’.”
Antonio bemoans disallowed West Ham goal
What was clear was that plenty of Forest fans were adamant that the right decision was made. And in truth, it was a surprise that the referee did not initially give a foul when Antonio and Mangala clashed.
However, the replays show that Mangala changes his position at the last split-second, as does Antonio. So to suggest that Antonio deliberately barges into him is impossible. And with that, the decision should have surely stayed as it was on the pitch.
You may also like…
- ‘I like him a lot’: Alan Shearer says one West Ham player was brilliant the other night
- Moyes claims West Ham player has been ‘brilliant’ at the World Cup and could easily play another position
- Brazilian national media react after Lucas Paqueta’s performance against South Korea yesterday
- Report: £70m England World Cup star would be seriously tempted to join Liverpool if they bid for him